Mastodon are going to release a new EP, Cold Dark Place, this Fall via Reprise Records, and it features four previously unheard tracks. It will be released on CD and digital format on September 22nd and limited-edition 10″ vinyl picture disc on October 27th.

Three of the EP’s tracks, “North Side Star,” “Blue Walsh,” and “Cold Dark Place,” were recorded during the making of Mastodon’s Once More ‘Round The Sun in 2014. The fourth track, however, wasn’t created until 2016 during the making of Emperor of Sand, which landed as one of our top metal albums of the year thus far.

If that isn’t incentive enough to pick up this EP, those who pre-order Cold Dark Place will receive an instant download of the track “Toe to Toes” in September. You can also catch them out on the road throughout the remainder of 2017 in North America and Europe in continued support of Emperor of Sand. A full list of tour dates can be found here.

Cold Dark Place Tracklist

Mastodon - Cold Dark Place

1. North Side Star
2. Blue Walsh
3. Toe to Toes
4. Cold Dark Place

If you can’t wait for Mastodon’s new release, Cold Dark Place, comment and let us know!